Rambler's Top100
Все новости

The IEC Presents Dr. Jerry R. Yeargan

16 мая 2007
The International Engineering Consortium (IEC) presented Dr. Jerry R. Yeargan with the IEC Fellow Award last month at the annual Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association (ECEDHA) meeting, which took place at the Renaissance Resort at World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Florida. IEC Chairman of the Board, John Pappas, who presented the award to Dr. Yeargan, commented, "Dr. Yeargan leads by example; he has served the academic community globally in numerous leadership roles throughout his career. We are honored to name him the newest IEC Fellow."

The International Engineering Consortium's Board of Directors established the Fellow Award in 1994 to recognize individuals who have provided the information industry with a superior level of sustained, significant service. Areas of service considered include education, technology and industry leadership contributions.

Biographical note

Dr. Jerry Yeargan received the Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin. He holds the position of Distinguished Professor and Rodger S. Kline chair of Computer Science and Computer Engineering at the University of Arkansas. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), and the International Engineering Consortium (IEC). He is also a charter member of the Pan American Academy of Engineering and is active in the Engineering for the Americas.

Dr. Yeargan's technical specialty and research interest are in the areas of linear and mixed-signal microelectronic circuits and semiconductor modeling. He is phasing out his externally funded research in preparation for retirement; however, his program provided support for many students over his 40-year academic career.

Dr. Yeargan is active in the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), IEEE and the ASEE. He has held many positions within ABET, including president, chair of its Board of Directors and its Executive Committee.

Dr. Yeargan has served the IEEE as vice president for Educational Activities, as a member of the Board of Directors and its Executive Committee, the Educational Activities Board and the Technical Activities Board. He was president of the IEEE Education Society in 1992-94 and is a former chair of the EE Division of ASEE.

Among the many engineering schools in the United States and internationally where Dr. Yeargan serves as a consultant evaluator are the Egyptian Air Force Academy, The Universidad de los Andes in Bogota, Columbia, the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology in Taejon, the University of Iceland, the Technical University of Delft, Kuwait University, University of Zagreb, The University of Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates University. By invitation of the Swiss Federal Office of Technical Education, he served as international observer to the Peer Review of the Swiss Universities of Applied Science. Currently he is chair of the International Advisory Council for the University of Qatar's CoE as well as chair of the Academic Advisory Board for the United Arab Emirates University's CoE.

Among the numerous awards and recognitions Dr. Yeargan has received are the IEEE's Millennium and Centennial Medals and the Outstanding Service to Students and Outstanding Faculty Award, presented by the Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers. Dr. Yeargan joins other distinguished IEC Fellows such as Vint Cerf, John Chambers, Irwin Jacobs, Jack Kilby, Scott McNealy, Gordon Moore, David Packard, Hector Ruiz and Andrew Viterbi.

Заметили неточность или опечатку в тексте? Выделите её мышкой и нажмите: Ctrl + Enter. Спасибо!

Оставить свой комментарий:

Для комментирования необходимо авторизоваться!

Комментарии по материалу

Данный материал еще не комментировался.