Rambler's Top100
Все новости World News

Ending the Year with a Roar, Ariane's HOT BIRD 9 and W2M

02 декабря 2008

The dual-satellite payload for Ariane space's sixth mission of 2008 is beginning its integration process with launcher hardware as preparations move forward for the year-end flight of two communications satellites, HOT BIRD 9 and W2M, at the service of Europe's telecommunications operator, Eutelsat.

These activities include the installation of HOT BIRD 9 on its cone-shape adapter unit, which functions as the interface between the satellite and its Ariane 5. The integration occurred this week inside the S5 payload integration building at the Spaceport in French Guiana.

Liftoff of the Ariane 5 is set for the night of Wednesday, December 10 at the opening of the following launch window:

From 6:35 p.m. to 7:45 p.m., local time in Kourou, French Guiana, From 4:35 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. in Washington, D.C. From 9:35 p.m. to 10:45 p.m. UTC, (Universal Time Conversion) From 10:35 p.m. to 11:45 p.m. in Paris, From 6:35 a.m. to 7:45 a.m. in Tokyo, on December 11.

HOT BIRD 9 was built by EADS Astrium, and is configured with 64 Ku-band transponders. With a liftoff mass of
4,880 kg., the satellite's high power output power will be used for digital and new high-definition TV channels, as well as interactive services. Its transmissions will be received by small direct-to-home antennas, and also are to be distributed through cable and community networks. The coverage area extends throughout Europe, and also reaches North Africa and the Middle East. After deployment from the heavy-lift Ariane 5 ECA, HOT BIRD 9 will be positioned at Eutelsat's premium video neighborhood orbital slot of 13° East.

Источник: http://www.satnews.com

Заметили неточность или опечатку в тексте? Выделите её мышкой и нажмите: Ctrl + Enter. Спасибо!

Оставить свой комментарий:

Для комментирования необходимо авторизоваться!

Комментарии по материалу

Данный материал еще не комментировался.